What happens after the publisher says yes

Pop Up's

State-Of-Mind Why I left teaching…

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela Jo

Oct 26, 2021
Wexford, Ireland
From someone who already has published 3 books-what happens when she receives her structural notes back and sees what she has to to rewrite AGAIN.

@philippa_east

The #EditLetter — a So…I’ve just received the letter from my editor for my fourth psychological suspense novel (due out early 2024). I thought I’d write a thread with a blow by blow account of this part of the writing process, to motivate myself & share some insights! 1/

Replying to
@philippa_east
My lovely editor starts off with some enthusiastic praise, using words like “complex“, “intriguing“, “ambitious“, “brimming with potential“ and “set to be your best book yet”. As a psychologist, I know all about the “shit sandwich“, but trust me, it really does help! 2/

She follows this up with fifteen pages of suggested improvements I very very quickly skimmed them yesterday to get a sense of the overall gist. Today I am armed with pen & pencil for my proper first pass through her notes. Back soon to let you know how I get on #EditLetter 3/

Okay, so I am now 5 pages in on my 15-page #EditLetter. Need a breather. Everything my editor has said so far makes sense, and she has some really good ideas. There are a few things I’m not sure yet how to make work at a practical level, but I’m not focusing on that for now. 4/

So far, her suggestions include: Some big changes to the plot Changing one POV from past to present tense Reorganising the order of a whole bunch of chapters Deepening character development They don’t call these “structural” edits for nowt.

She’s made specific suggestions of *how* I might fix some issues, which I always find helpful, since it makes me feel less like it’s all on me to generate solutions. I might not end up using her exact idea, but at least I have a foundation to work from.