Introducing myself: Michael Blackbourn

Evernight Publishing

Mapping The Story: Fictional cartography

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

MichaelBlackbourn

Hey everyone. I thought I'd give this place a try. I'm a relatively new writer and haven't found a community that works well for me yet. I tried on kboards but it's too big and focused on the Amazon issues of the day.

Quick bio: I used to jump out of planes and blow shit up at night for the US government. Now I'm a supervisor at a visual effects studio and worked on films like Iron Man, District 9, and Mocking Jay.

I've self published a kids illustrated adventure book on Amazon and am putting the finishing touches on a sci-fi short story right now.

I live on the west coast of Canada.

Hi to everyone. Hit me up on twitter @mikeblackbourn If your feed is pure book spam I'm unlikely to follow back. :)

Welcome to the colony! Thank you for your service in the military; my dad served for many years as well before retiring.

Your experience with the visual studio sounds interesting! Maybe it'll help with your writings :)

Hi Michael and welcome. I'm currently visiting Oregon, although I'm not sure where I'm from lol! Sci-fi is my favourite, although I've been writing in the genre of Fantasy. You should find a very helpful community here ;)

Welcome! Interesting bio. Thanks for your service! Live in WA.

Welcome! I dabble in scifi too, with mixed results.
I suspect that your laconic one-line 'bio' hides some rather more impressive stories...

Welcome! If you 'write what you know' there should be some explosive stories coming up!
I'm sure you'll find this a friendly and helpful place. Best writers' site on the net.

Hi Michael - nice to meet you. Hope you enjoy it here - I bet you have a few stories to tell… :)

Hello and welcome, you'll find a wealth of knowledge and advice here, just waiting for you.

Some art from my book:

crab-rock-188x300.jpg

seaweed-grab-188x300.jpg