Help! How do you track Litopia submissions you have commented upon?

Amusement A new literary project on an old theme

Question: Is Litopia for writers of literary fiction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peyton Stafford

Staff member
Jan 14, 2022
Lake Oswego, OR, USA
I am new to Litopia, so the answer to my question may be obvious to everyone but me. Apologies in advance. I like the people on Litopia and want to do my best to help them with their writing, but I am spectacularly bad at organizing anything. This brings to mind questions about the process of submitting, critiquing and commenting, and responding. Any help will be gratefully welcomed.

1. Is it necessary to follow and track submissions in which I have shown an interest? Do I need to save them on my computer or in the cloud? How do I organize them?
2. If not, then why not?
3. If so, then how?

Um, I can only say what I do, from both directions.
A - creating a 'for critique' thread:
1. when I submit a piece for critique, I collate the responses and thank or converse with the responders. I assume they have no great interest in keeping my draft docs, and delete them after a while.
2. when I've redrafted the piece, I [most often] delete the thread. Saves space in the colony.
3. if I haven't deleted it, and someone comments, I'll respond to the comment, wait a few days, and then delete the thread. I still welcome the comment, though, because every fresh set of eyes sees the the story from their unique perspective, and it may be just that one I want to use.

B - commenting on a submission by someone else
1. open, save to my downloads folder. If it's a long piece, I may convert it to read on an eReader to make it easy on myself.
2. I make comments, if I feel I can offer something.