Oghma Creative Media

What's your rewrite process?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kieran

Basic
Aug 15, 2019
Manchester
Thought I'd introduce myself. My name is Kieran, I'm a teacher in Manchester and I run a charity which gives money to communities in developing countries to build schools and clean water facilities.

I'm currently trying to write a book about Universal Basic Income and am looking for any advice whatsoever really. At the moment I've written the first three chapters and have the next 11 planned out. I've emailed agents although starting to think I've been too hasty!

Joined looking for honest feedback and would be happy to help others in any way I can!

Welcome - I'm sure you'll find what you need, and good luck with the project.

Hi Keiran :) That sounds non-fiction, and that's a very different beast to fiction. You'll need a book proposal, and I believe agents of non-fiction usually like to know what qualifies you to write this book, so make sure you let them know what you do. I write fiction so you're best to research first, don't take my word. But there's a tsunami of information on the net. Good luck with it, I think you have the experience to find interesting take, but it does take time, just don't give up. Check out the competition and do something different :)

Hi Kieren and welcome to this place. From my studies in the late sixties early seventies I have retained an interest in economics and the idea of a basic income is especially interesting considering the changing distribution of wealth in societies around the world. @AgentPete recently placed a book with a publisher on that subject so he may be able to help with some advice. I can't remember where the thread was but you may want to read the book. Perhaps Pete can point you to it.
Best of luck :)

Hello Kieran and welcome!
Yes, I did a recent deal on the looming economic collapse, which is related. Big, scary stuff! :)