What Would You Do? Using Instagram as an author...

NEW UNREPRESENTED AUTHOR PRIZE LAUNCHED, just sayin'

Question: Awards

Status
Not open for further replies.

JamieRae

Basic
Jul 6, 2021
PE15, England
Hello fellow writers! Happy new year to you all.

I use Instagram quite regularly for my drawing (I'm a storyboard artist) and I've been thinking about starting a new account to share my writing journey. Being a visual-first platform, it works great for my drawings but I'm wondering if anybody here uses IG to share their writing journey.

If yes, have you seen much success in connecting with new audiences and fellow writers? If not, do you use another platform such as Twitter, to better effect?

Would love to hear about your experiences!

Thanks,
Jamie

I am also a visual artist, but follow some writers on Instagram too: the poets tend to post poems, the writers tend to post covers of their books or pictures/photos connected to their work. I stick with the visual art myself :)

I think Twitter is seen as a better vehicle; @Nmlee (I think) uses Twitter a lot? There are a good few Litopians on there.

I do both Insta and Twitter. And Facebook.

Two accounts, one per talent, means twice the work.

It probably depends on what you want to promote: yourself, or your art. But I think you can mix both.