Revealing the contents of my novel before approaching appropriate agents

J

Joseph Campbell and new Chapter 1

Prolific romantic fiction writer exposed as a plagiarist

Status
Not open for further replies.
Greetings fellow colonists,

Here is a question I struggle with every day, and some advice would be appreciated.

I am totaly, uterly, new to trying to get my work published, although, I have been writing for pleasure and to entertain my family for well over 6 years. In that time, I have amassed a body of work. I have developed a concept and expanded the concept.

But what do I reveal before approaching agents or publishers?

I am stunned by the quality of advice available on Litopia, and its a credit to all of you Litopians. But what can I tell you about the 4 books I am writing? can I tell you the whole outline, book 1 to 4, without an agent telling me that the concept is not "unique" as its been published online?

What about characterisation? can I expand on the characters I have in the books here, to get feedback, to see if they are viable entities? would an agent say that this was un-acceptable?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Kevin

Well, I don't speak for agents (as I don't have one), but I would imagine that you're probably safe putting pieces of your writing out here (as in, a few chapters), but only if you do it either through email to specific people or in the Houses when they become available to you. That way, the whole writing isn't out there for all the world to access. I don't see a problem if you have questions about your characters as the experiences of others (i.e. Litopians) can only help to build your characters more fully.