Hello, I'm new to Litopia

Blog Post On How To Get Off The Slush Pile

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Brittany

Hello, people of the Colony. My name is Brittany, and I'm an author. I'm addicted to words and have been for years. Words in puzzles, words on signs, words in books, and words in my mind. Poetry, however, isn't one of my vices :)

Anyway, I'm new to Litopia. I've perused the forums, and it seems like you're a friendly and helpful bunch.

I recently finished my first novel, and I'm in the dreaded querying stage--after soliciting feedback from beta readers, doing rewrites, sitting on it, editing again, editing some more, and doing some more editing :) I've read several posts on formatting, including one on here, but I'm still confused about pasting sample pages into the body of an email. I certainly know to first read the submission guidelines and follow them, but as you all likely know, some guidelines are vague. I understand that paragraphs should be double-spaced but not indented, but should the whole text be double-spaced as it would be in a printed manuscript being sent snail-mail, or should it be single-spaced, as it is in this very post I'm typing?

I am appreciative of any tips. Thank you.

Hi Brittany and welcome. As for copying and pasting text into an email, I personally leave it double spaced so it's easy to read, but I haven't heard any specifics on that one, so it's an interesting question.

Welcome to the colony! Browse the site and you'll find tons of info on all of the stages you're coming up on. You'll also find that everyone here is at different stages in their writing careers, so we all have something new to share!