Beginning a Story

Publish or wait?

Fanfare! Galley Beggar short story prize...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paul Whybrow

Jun 20, 2015
Cornwall, UK
I'm just beginning the fifth novel in my Cornish Detective series, which I'm thrilled about. Most of 2017 was spent writing new short stories and poems for competitions, but I've also done loads of research for the new story.

Being more of a 'pantser' than a 'planner', I don't know exactly what will happen in a tale that will include art forgery, identity theft, long-concealed murder, deep sea divers, ghosts and legends, though I'll listen to my characters to find a way. I feel like Vladamir Nabokov, who said:

The pages are still blank, but there is a miraculous feeling of the words being there, written in invisible ink and clamouring to become visible.”

I've noticed that I've started to think of the past few years in terms of which novel I wrote then, rather than anything else that happened in my life. 2017-2018 will be the year of The Dead Need Nobody, so during Christmas and New Year I'll be immersed in murder, malice and mayhem...what's new? :rolleyes:

Recently, I read a collection of short stories called Stories: Volume 2, compiled by Al Sarrantonio and Neil Gaiman who also wrote an introduction. Gaiman was asked, by a fan on his blog, what four words he would choose as a mural for the wall of a children's library, and he said they would be 'And What Happened Next?'which is just what an author wants their readers to think.

It's also the attitude a writer should have while they write: I'm writing another novel to see what happens next. I feel like I'm off on a new adventure.

How do you feel when you begin writing a new story?

Does it feel like a mountain that you've chosen to climb?

Is it a jungle that you're entering, and you're afraid you'll get lost?

Or are you faced with a vast desert that's devoid of landmarks?

14ce6a39ccb158bc590add2bc55707e5--writing-motivation-peanuts-snoopy.jpg