The Observer Effect - Just Write

"Protecting your IP on the high seas of the internet"

B

Help! Cat calls

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Amber Zade

With all the great cat videos I totally forgot why I was thinking about the Observer Effect and writing......

There are certain buzz words writers throw around with one another.

Media Res - Usually meant to say we should start a story in the middle of the action.
Info Dump - Giving information in a clumsy manner
Exposition - Explaining rather than showing
GMC - Goal, motivation, and conflict... one should lead naturally to the other.
passive voice - had ... had .... had ....

I'm sure there are more.....

As a beginning writer, I learned about these catch phrases and I've even used them in critique groups. I've recently had reason to question .... well ... most of these .....

Media Res - It's a greek theater term and ... again ... as most of us know, means we should start in the middle of the action.

Maybe I've aged about 20 years in the last year and am officially 'old' but stories that start off with fireworks going off have started to get on my nerves. I suspect there is more than one way to execute media res. This first occurred to me while I was reading Donald Maas book 'Writing the Breakout Novel'. He didn't come right out and explain the different ways to execute media res, instead he just gave examples of the different ways other books had used media res. What I've come away with is a different definition of media res - 'fully formed'. By fully formed I mean the players are already on the stage, they already have a relationship, and they already have issues.

We are told to use media res to draw the reader in... BUT .... most media res situations are short lived.... they get resolved pretty quickly.... usually. I still think it's a good way to start a book but I don't think it's the only way or necessarily the best way for every story.