Should Writers Embrace Imperfection In Manuscripts?

• Thread starter Deleted member 604
  • Start date

Writing Out Loud

News Would You Like To Guest on Pop-Up Submissions?

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Deleted member 604

Learning to write imperfectly is one of the biggest reasons why I am a happy writer now, because before I wasn't.
You all know our passion for what we write can be one of our biggest enemies in the writing world. It can make us lose the confidence in our writing as if real life isn't bad enough when it comes to that, confidence.
Aiming for perfection in our writing makes us blind, too attached and stops us from walking away and going cold on our manuscripts for a bit, instead of keeping it on a high shelf.
When you find the courage to take it off that high shelf and finally walk away from you manuscript which has been rejected time and time again and has probably been overwritten past the point of return.
You, go back to it. And when you return to it? You all know what happens, you CRINGE and then you soon learn it was one of the most productive things you have ever done and you know your writing can only get better because now you can see both, the perfection and imperfection in your writing and in reality that's very true to ourselves, we all have our good and bad bits, anyway let's get back on track.

For me something kind of magical happened when I embraced the idea of imperfection. It’s why I get excited to write everyday now and why I never hate my work-in-progress manuscript anymore, no matter what stage it's at or what state it's in.

I’m not saying we as writers shouldn’t be thorough and focused or that we shouldn’t polish our novel to the best of our ability, but I am saying you shouldn’t obsess. And you shouldn’t make perfection a goal, because such a goal is impossible, otherwise why would we carry on writing?

So, this is why as writers we should embrace imperfection;

You can focus on what really matters.