Self-sabotage: I don't deserve success

Status
Not open for further replies.

RK Wallis

What a great blog post Kirsten Lamb has written.

I love this line from the "Part 2" link (where KL talks about The Martian) in the above post:

"Not everyone has the rhino skin to be corrected publicly, but if we do? We grow up way faster."

What a great blog post Kirsten Lamb has written.

I love this line from the "Part 2" link (where KL talks about The Martian) in the above post:

"Not everyone has the rhino skin to be corrected publicly, but if we do? We grow up way faster."
Very interesting post, Rachel. Thanks for putting it up there.

I haven’t read all the links yet as I have to get up and get on. But it did spark some answering thoughts.

As you guys all know, I came to writing quite late in the day. Before that, I would have described myself as a visual artist.
But I did, always, know I was an artist — I was not just ‘artistic’.

What is the difference?

It is in how I think, not what I do. It is in how my brain connects with the world, whether I’m actively producing ‘art’ or not.
It is not something I can neither switch off or change.
But I can develop it. Constantly.

And for the past ten years, I’ve been engaged in studying the craft of writing. And my life-long love of words, plot, character and story seems to be finding its feet there.
I am becoming a writer.
And, like the above, I notice it is now in the way I think, and the way my brain relates to the world.

My favourite tutor at Uni said, ‘if you’re reading, you’re writing.’
By which she meant if you’re a writer, then when you read (and I’d add or watch a film) your mind is enjoying it on one level — but on another level it is noticing the prose, the character-building, the plot structure, and making mental notes about what works and how to utilise it.

If I never paint another picture (or, if we’re honest, chuck more knives in paint), I’ll still be an artist, through and through.