I made a bookcover !

It's not an octopus, but ...

Recommendation needed: P. G. Wodehouse

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bloo

Sep 16, 2021
New England
So...I'm no artist - and nowhere near finishing my novel. Yet still I've made a cover. I found a public-domain photo and modified it to work for my novel. The license for this photo permits public and commercial use as long as it's properly attributed. Hopefully, this covers it...

Cover image courtesy of the Commonwealth Science Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO), titled “CSIRO’S PARKES RADIO TELESCOPE WITH MOON IN THE BACKGROUND” under the Creative Commons license.

The original photo was taken in 1969 at the time of the first manned moon landing. The moon was not blasted away from Earth orbit on 13 September 1999, but merely removed by digital means. Additional changes to the image have also been made for the purposes of this novel.

Anyhoo...what are your thoughts on appropriating a public-domain photo for a novel? Is it amateurish? Would my attempt interest you enough to have a look inside?

Thanks !

Attachments

• 667c46d370e04031072a51c8fe0899ed95b2f908~2.jpg
    667c46d370e04031072a51c8fe0899ed95b2f908~2.jpg
    26.5 KB · Views: 54
Last edited:
Ahh, I see you're succumbing to a writer's guilty pleasure - procrastinating. Overall, I like it too, although the font does tell me it's a self published cover, and I've been let down too many times reading self published work, so I won't buy self published.

Ahh, I see you're succumbing to a writer's guilty pleasure - procrastinating. Overall, I like it too, although the font does tell me it's a self published cover, and I've been let down too many times reading self published work, so I won't buy self published.
I thought a little hopeful indulgence on my part would break this writer's block. It didn't work.