Cover Design Tricks

Self-Publishing And The Sexes

Different Versions Of Your Book – A Riposte

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paul Whybrow

Jun 20, 2015
Cornwall, UK
There was a story in the Mail on Sunday earlier this year, showing that it’s still possible to make great sales from ebooks. I'd love to know how the successful author Sheila Rodgers tackled the problem of getting her first novel known online. This is called ‘the process of discovery’, and basically means that if people don't know about your book, they won't be buying it.

Most people think that if you write a decent story it will sell, simply because it is good. But it’s not that easy, as I’ve been finding for the last 18 months. There’s 369,000 titles on Smashwords alone, and they distribute these to a dozen other vendors of ebooks, including Apple. Amazon stock millions of ebooks, including well-known classics. The Mail article makes it sound like she wrote it for fun, couldn't be bothered with approaching traditional agents, so stuck it on Amazon and she was instantly successful – just like that!

Hope and Cynicism walk hand in hand when you're a self-published writer.

One of the huge drawbacks with e-publishing is that because no physical object exists, be it a CD, film or book, buyers expect the digital version to be much cheaper. In other words, instant devaluation – and in more ways than just monetary. It leads to a certain stigma, with e-publishing seen as just playing at it, or a form of vanity publishing – with paper books being the real thing.