Question: Memoir content previously published on blog

Recipe Save the Banana

AI as critique partner

Mel L

Aug 24, 2021
Switzerland
Question for the collective genii:
If my memoir includes content previously published on my WordPress blog (own domain, thus I've kept the rights), will this be a hindrance to getting it trad published? In many cases the content will be reworded, but as I've been blogging on the same theme for over 10 years, certain anecdotes will be essentially the same.
Any experiences or hints appreciated!

@AgentPete is probably the one to ask.

I'm thinking, though, it may be a clash, as you'll have the rights to the blog and they ... I don't know. Also, readers of the book would in essence be paying for something they can get free on your blog. Of course the book would be longer, but still.

I wonder though, if you could delete said blog posts (or hide them, and if you don't get a publisher, un-hide them). But I don't know whether that particular thing is a good move or not.

@AgentPete is probably the one to ask.

I'm thinking, though, it may be a clash, as you'll have the rights to the blog and they ... I don't know. Also, readers of the book would in essence be paying for something they can get free on your blog. Of course the book would be longer, but still.

I wonder though, if you could delete said blog posts (or hide them, and if you don't get a publisher, un-hide them). But I don't know whether that particular thing is a good move or not.
Thanks, Barbara! Yes, the book would be longer and hopefully captivate readers by weaving together the snippets in the blog through scintillating storytelling. :-D But you're right, some of the content is already out there so maybe less appealing to a publisher.

I heard an interview with the author of Man Vs Baby earlier this week. He wrote a blog and it helped in his publishing journey. If you have a large readership, I believe it can go in your favour. But yes, see what @AgentPete says xx