Inkett novel contest and submission calls for Spec fiction

Status
Not open for further replies.

izi 出久

Basic
Feb 21, 2022
USA
I'm done with my first draft. Now what?

I've never written a novel before--only short stories and little poems. I would love to learn some of your strategies for revising / rewriting / editing.

More specifically, I'm not talking about proofreading. But there is quite a bit of work I need to do on my manuscript. Reorganization, cutting, revising for clarity, shownottell, continuity, annihilating filter words, etc.

Where do you normally start? Do you go through the ms multiple times (one run-through for each focus)? I feel like I'm going to be jumping all over the place if I don't have a plan.

The ms is 145k (right now) so printing for each edit would be.... well, I'd have to buy a bit more printer ink.

Your experience / suggestions are highly appreciated. Complete newb at this.

Well done for getting the first draft completed, and at 145K that represents quite an achievement. :clapping-hands::clapping-hands::clapping-hands:

Most advice I have read on this subject suggests the first step is that you tie a ribbon around it and put it in a drawer for a few weeks. If you've printed it out already, that can be a real ribbon. If it's still in a Word file or whatever, make it an imaginary ribbon.

Then after the fortnight / month has passed, start in with a clearer head and fresher eyes. In the meantime keep writing daily. Maybe some poems or short stories. Just keep the writing muscles ticking over.

And when it's time, I brew a small ocean of coffee or tea and begin a read through correcting and tweaking as I go. But of course if you're already aware of restructure points in the arc, or where you know it's just not working for whatever reason, then you can work on those areas. Often, for me, the readthrough highlights some of these issues and others I previously had not spotted.