Reality Check Lying Book Endorsements

Blog Post: Skimming Stones

Inspiration! They, An English Summer Ghost Story

As an editor, I worry about this. I've seen self-published authors take comments from editorial reports and quote them out of context, with the editor's name as though they were endorsements for the whole book. And often the editor hasn't even seen the book in its final published form. But there they are, apparently saying the book is sensitively written with real feeling, or shining with authenticity, whereas actually they were just highlighting one part that worked well so that the writer could apply the same mindset and method elsewhere.

Context is everything! If you have no reason to think the reviews aren't what they seem, you have no reason to doubt.
Brings to mind the Pulitzer winner Trust which we did in book club. I bought it from the endorsements and "Pulitzer!" It was awful. I could find nothing the endorsements promised and the rest of the book club readers agreed. That was when I first wondered.

As an editor, I worry about this. I've seen self-published authors take comments from editorial reports and quote them out of context, with the editor's name as though they were endorsements for the whole book. And often the editor hasn't even seen the book in its final published form. But there they are, apparently saying the book is sensitively written with real feeling, or shining with authenticity, whereas actually they were just highlighting one part that worked well so that the writer could apply the same mindset and method elsewhere.
A dear friend who was a fairly well known literary critic, and a couple colleagues who were movie critics, one day over lunch in the 90s explained that criticism 101 was realizing that any snippet that could be removed from context to look like an endorsement would be removed from context to look like an endorsement.